Wk 10- Artist Conversation- Tony Nguyen

Artist:Tony Nguyen

Exhibition: Neoteny

Media: Metal and Ceramics

Gallery: CSULB School of Art Merlino Gallery

Website: eltigresite.wordpress.com

Instagram: elll_tigre

About the Artist

Tony Nguyen is a CSULB student he is currently a fifth year student pursuing a Bachelors of Fine Arts in metal. He is currently in his last semester in school. His intended major was illustration but decided to change it and focus to working with metals. Tony told us that he is hundred percent Vietnamese.

Formal Analysis

When I first walked into the gallery their was lots of work and art pieces made out of metal. I found Tony’s work to be very fascinating and beautiful his pieces were very cool to see. In his gallery Tony has displayed a total of 15 pieces throughout his gallery. Tony explains that each pieces takes about 4 to 6 weeks to make. His art pieces are really detailed work and very unique.

Content Analysis

Tony’s exhibit brought me back memories from my childhood. All of Tony’s gallery represents a pieces of his childhood. Through his favorite childhood stories his art pieces are inspired. He explains how the gloves, crown and necklace in his gallery are based on the sun Wukong

My experience

I really enjoyed Tony’s gallery so much and loved all of his metal art work pieces that were displayed beautifully in his gallery. His are work really stood out to me and caught my attention a lot maybe because they reminded me of my childhood.

image

Leave a Reply

